Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion
  • Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST)
    Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST)

    BEST Collaborative is an international research organization that works collaboratively to explore ways to improve transfusion-related services through…

  • BEST Membership
    BEST Membership

    The BEST collaborative is a unique free-standing group of over 150 manufacturers, clinicians, and scientists from 22 countries committed to improving transfusion…

  • BEST Meetings
    BEST Meetings

    BEST meetings are held twice per year. and attendance is open to all members. Invited guests may attend with pre-approval of the Chair.

  • Press Releases
    Press Releases

    Official notices regarding significant publications, special events and member news.

  • Recommended Procedures
    Recommended Procedures

    Several best practice documents are available for download

  • Sponsorship

    Any commercial organization or Blood Service interested in advancing the purpose of BEST may become a supporter of BEST by paying the annual dues amount; providing a…

Latest News

Press Release 13 Dec 2017

Ziggy Szczepiorkowski, MD, PhD elected Chair, effective Oct 2018

Transfusion Update Event

was held in Sydney Australia in April 2017.

Press Release 20 July 2016

Interference of New Drugs in Compatibility Testing for Blood Transfusion

Member Reminders

  • The La Jolla BEST Book and meeting presentations are available for download in the members area.
  • Make your hotel reservations for the Florence Meeting now! The booking form is available in the members area.
  • A DRAFT program of the education session sponsored by the Italian National Blood Centre to be held on 26 April 2018 in Florence is posted in the members area.

October 2017

La Jolla 2017

BEST LIV Meeting

The meeting dates for the Fall Meeting are October 4-5, 2017.


  • Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
  • Immediately prior to the AABB Meeting in San Diego


April 2018


BEST LV Meeting

Dates are confirmed for Florence, Italy for April 27-28, 2018.

Important News

  • A booking form for the Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is posted in the Members area



Georges Andreu
James AuBuchon
Celso Bianco
Anneke Brand
Morris Blajchman
Michael Busch
Marcela Contreras
Neelam Dhingra
Sunny Dzik
Jenny de Wildt-Eggen
Hermann Eichler
Simone Glynn
Hans Gulliksson
Andrew Heaton
Nancy Heddle
Margarethe Heiden
John Hess
Riitta Kekomaki
Harvey Klein
Wolfgang Mayr 
Jeffrey McCullough
Jeff Miripol

Gary Moroff
Paul Ness
Derwood Pamphilon
Ruby Pietersz
Chris Prowse
Martin Ras
Paolo Rebulla
Ron Sacher
Sherrill Slichter
Irena Sniecinski
Jerard Seghatchian
Girolamo Sirchia
Cees Smit Sibinga
Joe Sweeney
Shigeru Takamoto
Jaro Vostal
Girish Vyas
Wolfram Walker
Silvano Wendel
Lorna Williamson
Sam Wortham