Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion

Save the Date! November 6, 2021

BEST is proud to announce a special Symposium celebrating its 30th Anniversary. The Symposium will be held Virtually, beginning at 10:00 North American Eastern Time.

We plan to highlight the past, present, and future of BEST and the Transfusion Medicine industry.

The draft program is as follows. Registration will be announced shortly.

Time (North America Eastern)


 10:00 am - 10:05 am

Welcome & Introduction
 Ziggy Szczepiorkowski

Part 1: The First 30 Years of BEST  
 10:05 am - 10:20 am

The origins and early development of BEST
 Paolo Rebulla

 10:20 am -10:35 am

Reflections on the role of manufacturing members
 Sam Wortham
 Jeffrey E. Miripol
 Larry Dumont

Part 2: Scott Murphy Memorial Award Lecture
 10:40 am - 10:45 am

Presentation of Award 
 Ziggy Szczepiorkowski

 10:45 am - 11:20 am

Scott Murphy Memorial Award Lecture
 Recipient to be announced

 11:20 am - 11:30 am

Q & A

Part 3: What’s Next for BEST: Team Leader Presentations
 11:35 am -12:15 pm

BEST Team Leaders
 Cellular Therapy: David Stroncek, David McKenna
 Clinical Transfusion Studies: Mark Fung, Alan Tinmouth
 Conventional Components: Dana Devine, Rebecca Cardigan
 Donor Studies: Ralph Vassallo, Marc Germain

Part 4: Horizon Scanning  
 12:20 pm - 12:25 pm

 Mike Murphy

 12:25 pm - 12:55 pm

The Future of Transfusion Medicine
 Simone Glynn

 12:55 pm - 1:00 pm

Closing Remarks 
 Ziggy Szczepiorkowski