Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion

Award Recipient of 26th Scott Murphy Memorial Award Lectureship Announced

Press Release

06 March 2021

Beau WebberLebanon, NH - It is with great pleasure that the Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative announces the recipient of the 26th Scott Murphy Memorial Lecture. This lecture will coincide with the 61st Meeting of BEST, to be held as a Virtual Meeting on April 16, 2021. Applications were received from a number of outstanding candidates and were considered by the BEST Executive Team. The highly deserving award recipient is Beau R. Webber, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, MN. Dr. Webber will be presenting “The bench-to-bedside development of a novel, first-in-human CRISPR/Cas9 engineered T cell therapy for metastatic gastrointestinal cancer.”

About the Scott Murphy Memorial Lecture: The Scott Murphy Memorial Lectureship was established in 2007 by the BEST Collaborative in recognition of the tremendous contribution of the late Dr. Scott Murphy, a past chair of the BEST Collaborative, had made to the field of transfusion medicine and to the science of platelet storage. The BEST Collaborative encourages junior faculty involved in the broadly understood field of transfusion medicine to apply for this unique award. The award recipient is invited to present a lecture at the semiannual BEST Meeting. A list of prior award recipients and their presentation titles can be found HERE. The selection process for the 27th Memorial Award Lecture to coincide with the BEST Meeting tentatively scheduled to be held in Los Angeles, California on October 13-14, 2021, will open on June 1, 2021. Applications may be submitted online on the BEST website.

About the BEST Collaborative: The Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative is an international research organization whose objective is to improve the safety of transfusion and cell therapy and related services through standardization of analytic techniques, development of new procedures and execution of clinical trials in hemotherapy and cell therapy. More than 140 scientific publications have resulted from the Collaborative's work.


Ziggy Szczepiorkowski, MD, PhD; Chair of the BEST Collaborative, in Lebanon, NH: +1 603 650 7171
Eileen Selogie, MT(ASCP)SBB; Executive Director of the BEST Collaborative: +1 310 801 0914