Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion

Press Release

22 June 2022

Ruchika GoesLebanon, NH - It is with great pleasure that the Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative announces the recipient of the 29th Scott Murphy Memorial Lecture. This lecture will coincide with the 64th Meeting of BEST to be held in Cocoa Beach, Florida on September  28-29, 2022. Applications were received from a number of outstanding candidates and were considered by the BEST Board of Directors. The highly deserving award recipient is Ruchika Goel, MD, MPH, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine and Pediatrics at SIU School of Medicine and Adjunct Faculty, Division of Transfusion Medicine, Department of Pathology, Johns Hopkins University and Medical Director at ImpactLife Blood Center, Springfield, IL. Dr. Goel will be presenting “BIG DATA applications and the power of collaborative efforts in yielding high-quality research output.”

About the Scott Murphy Memorial Lecture: The Scott Murphy Memorial Lectureship was established in 2007 by the BEST Collaborative in recognition of the tremendous contribution of the late Dr. Scott Murphy, a past chair of the BEST Collaborative, had made to the field of transfusion medicine and to the science of platelet storage. The BEST Collaborative encourages junior faculty involved in the broadly understood field of transfusion medicine to apply for this unique award. The award recipient is invited to present a lecture at the semiannual BEST Meeting. A list of prior award recipients and their presentation titles can be found HERE

About the BEST Collaborative: The Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative is an international research organization whose objective is to improve the safety of transfusion and cell therapy and related services through standardization of analytic techniques, development of new procedures and execution of clinical trials in hemotherapy and cell therapy. More than 150 scientific publications have resulted from the Collaborative's work.


Ziggy Szczepiorkowski, MD, PhD; Chair of the BEST Collaborative, in Lebanon, NH: +1 603 650 7171
Eileen Selogie, MT(ASCP)SBB; Executive Director of the BEST Collaborative: +1 310 801 0914